Mother Nature

There’s been a huge event going on that you might have missed. It’s bigger than the new season of Sherlock, more catastrophic than global warming, and more terrifying than my local drive through coffee emporium raising their prices. Heart palpitating yet? It will be: I am going gray.

I’ve been gray for a while; I’ve just been coloring it. Then, I stopped. It really was as simple as that. I didn’t have any heart-to-heart talks with the children entitled “Mom is Going Gray and We’ll be All Right” and I forgot to inform my friends about this life altering event. You know why? Because it’s my head.

I won’t bother sharing how many people have commented on how brave I am to let my looks go. I decide that the cost of hair color in a bottle isn’t worth the price and I’m letting my looks go? Last time I checked, I have two eyes, a nose and a mouth in the proper locations on my head. My looks are exactly how they’ve been; they’re just a little more sparkly. I stopped coloring my hair because I like the shade of silver gray it is. I think it’s pretty. Going natural has also made my hair softer. If I am more Jamie Lee Curtis than Megan Fox I’m okay with that. I’m closer in age to Jamie Lee anyway.

I carry the road map of my life on my person and on my head. I have lived more than a minute on planet Earth and I have the scars, stretch marks – and now gray hair – to prove it. I think people of all ages are beautiful, with coordinating features that showcase our endurance, if not our longevity, on planet Earth. I don’t think I look older with graying hair. The present combination of silver and medium brown tinged with metallic bronze due to fading hair color is kind of fascinating. I have a telltale skunk stripe down my center part with silver hair around my temples and over my ears. In two more haircuts, I am told, I will be completely gray. I don’t know what I’ll look like, but I’m fine with that. I didn’t know when I was seven what I would look like at 20. Some transformations are best revealed slowly.

I understand the natural concern people have for any type of transition, I just hadn’t thought about it in relation to my head. Like all things, people will get used to me being gray and they’ll forget, except when looking at pictures, that I ever looked any other way.

As long as I don’t change my hairstyle.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nickelslife
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 21:52:54

    Make sure to take a picture, so you can have a memory of your skunk phase!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jackie
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 01:29:40

    Welcome to the wonderful world of the silver fox. You’ll always be my beautiful niece.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Heidi Creason
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 18:43:30

    I think you look great sparkly 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

Leave a Reply

