Love the Love

I love Valentine’s Day: people unapologetically and publicly wear red, pink, and white with the occasional splash of purple – and, better yet, we share chocolate. We proclaim our love to the people in our lives, or scramble to get someone to hang out with so that we’re not alone on this most greeting-cardsy of holidays. Along with the smell of flowers and the tummy aches from eating too many chocolates, here’s what I want you to remember: even if you don’t have a deep and abiding love for a significant other, you should be busy celebrating the fact that you’ve been with YOU for your whole life.

I am reminded of this quote from Hamlet: “To thine own self be true.” I realize Polonius wasn’t referring to love; I have just always understood this is my own noggin as loving yourself for who you are. As people, we have an amazing capacity to love ridiculously, beyond reason, deeply and profoundly. We can love far and wide, or reserve our devotion to a very special few. We get to choose.

Overall, love is difficult. In the daily act of loving someone else, we hurt each other, take each other for granted, and add qualifiers to the quality of our love.  In spite of ourselves, though, we’re optimists, or at the very least realists. We need each other to survive, and we need to have people to care for and about to live well. We tend to forget that having people to care for includes, most definitely and necessarily includes, ourselves.

Here is your Valentine’s Day challenge. Feel free to bestow upon the people in your life whatever cards, trinkets and goodies you want, but include yourself on that list. You are not alone on Valentine’s Day. You have the best friend you will ever have: yourself.

Many, many people get caught up in the cards/flowers/presents mode. Some people use Valentine’s Day as an excuse to gift themselves with something they’ve had their eye on. Still others use Valentine’s Day as their day of proclamation. I get to clap along with others as people propose to their beloveds, or, my personal favorite, as a 14-year-old carries a life-sized teddy bear up the stairs to his girlfriend’s house.

Valentine’s Day is just a day. If you want to celebrate it as a day of love, then tell people you love them, don’t wait for them to tell you.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. YourSillyDaughter
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 14:07:17

    I really liked this entry! It may even be my favorite! It has a sort of Vlogbrothers musing feel. And it is full of truth! C:

    PS: If you had titled this “Love Love Love” I would have exploded because Mountain Goats reference haha
    PPS: Yes I am trying out this whole using the word “had” thing for Dr. You know who

    Like

    Reply

  2. Robert Grumbine
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 15:57:35

    Well, my spouse is vacationing hundreds of miles from here, so I had some help on the adding myself to the list. But it’s certainly a good idea.

    My love to you both if a little belated wrt valentine’s day. Though I guess it’s mysillyniece for me, right?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

