We all Need a Floofy Skirt

I am not prone to generalizations about my status as a woman. To be clear, I think living as a human person is difficult, and that only gets more burdensome as one adds cultural and gender stereotypes upon it. I am grateful to be a me-type person, with all the 500 billion flaws and one or two good qualities that go along with it. Having typed all that, I want us to spend a moment thinking about that most hyperanalyzed of all material items people have: their clothes. If one has a flair for color and pattern, an eye for detail and a manner of tying a scarf or tie just so, we call them fancy. Then we call them materialistic, vapid, shallow, gender stereotypic, what have you. We are wrong, so wrong to do this.

We reject the notion that clothes make the person even as we yank on our own version of a uniform. Love it or lump it, our clothes are a form of nonverbal communication. I don’t wear my pajamas to work unless it’s pajama day (reason #502 why teaching is awesome). I definitely don’t wear my swimsuit to a business meeting; it would too quickly dissolve into laughter and it would be difficult for me to communicate assertively while wearing brown polka dots with ruffles. Maybe that’s my failing, maybe not. In any case, clothes are not entirely unimportant. It is most important for people to wear clothing that makes them feel good. I don’t care if a girl wears more stereotypically male-type clothing, or if a boy wears more stereotypically female-type clothing. If you feel sassy and fantastic in it, then go for it — except for jammies and swimsuits. They have a clear place and it’s not the workplace. Well, unless you are a jammie and swimsuit model. I stand corrected.

Don’t worry, I have a point. In the fashion world, there exists that most magnificent of clothing items: the floofy skirt. It is twirly, spinny, sometimes sparkly, sometimes not. The point, though, is that it makes a person want to dance. Put those inhibitions down, nondancer-type people, the human body moves through space particularly well in a floofy skirt. The funny thing (to me) is that I don’t actually own one. I watch ballet, and even as I admire the athleticism, discipline, and sheer force of the moving story playing out before me, I adore the floofy skirt. Tulle was created for motion, for celebration, for bottom-shaking happiness.

I digress. Last weekend, I saw a picture of a little girl dancing in awkward little person beauty: arms akimbo, head tilted to the side, polka dot leggings, red mary janes – and a floofy skirt. The joy of the picture was that this person, even if she was a little model person, was having a blast. It reminded me of the days when I danced just because I was happy – not for the attention, not for the discipline, certainly not for the judgement, but just because it was a day and there was music and it was time to boogie. I do not own a floofy skirt, but I have a floofy skirt mindset that I won’t apologize for. My life is plenty serious, with its own share of difficulty and stress, and far, far too much worry. Sometimes it’s good just to bust out a metaphorical floofy skirt and enjoy a moment before returning to the business of the day.

My brother and I bantered on our social media site about whether everyone should have a floofy skirt; I still maintain that, yes, floofy skirts are a necessity. Perhaps not an actual floofy skirt, but some item of clothing that makes you smile, reminds you of a happy moment. Maybe it’s a jersey, maybe a pair of sneakers, maybe it’s your hideous flannel shirt from the 90s. I don’t care what it is, but I will argue to the ground that there is a piece of clothing that makes you smile. Mine is my imaginary floofy skirt. It is tulle, floor length, with layers of purple and green. In real time, I’m probably wearing my teacher uniform of a cardigan and pencil skirt, but please know that in my mind, I am wearing my floofy skirt and dancing.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Esther
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 12:23:22

    Excellent! I just bought a floofy top and plan on dancing the night away.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

