Being Presentable

The capsule wardrobe craze is fascinating to behold. Take your clothes, graciously sell or donate the items that don’t make you happy, rotate through a streamlined version of the rest every three months or so. A thoughtful blend of clothing and seasons. One of the arguments many capsulers (capsulets?) claim is that using a capsule wardrobe makes them presentable more often. They don’t go out in sweats and ratty t-shirts because that’s not part of their capsule. My question, even as I remain intrigued by the capsule concept, is how come someone doesn’t just up and decide that their capsule is sweats and ratty t-shirts? Probably someone has, but hasn’t posted it on the internet.

Regardless, capsule wardrobes are wardrobes that make sense. A person doesn’t have to stress over what to wear because the choices are preselected and either ready-to-go or in the laundry. I love this even as I doubt that I’m going to apply these concepts to my own closet. The larger issue, and maybe that’s what minimalists advocate, is that less clutter equals less stress. I can appreciate that. The summers I spent working at a fine arts camp were great. I had no worries about what to wear because we had uniforms: blue shorts, blue logo polo, blue crew socks. We called ourselves Smurfs. I loved my shorts, which was good, because I washed and wore them for two summers.

If efficiency is one argument in favor of a more manageable wardrobe, making oneself presentable would also fit, with apologies to my fictitious sweatpants/ratty t-shirt friends. Even if we don’t think of it this way, we usually wear some type of uniform to work. For me, it’s usually slacks and a cardigan/top combo. Ta-da. Bright and sparkly in less than five minutes. My husband has a work uniform too: slacks, shirt, tie, repeat. The end result of this isn’t that we look the same every single day, it’s that we’re presentable. We don’t look like we just rolled out of bed, and we also don’t look like we’re playing dress-up. We blend into the situations of our days. I love my sweats and couch potato ensembles; they’re everything that’s comfortable and snuggly in my life. Nobody could pay me enough to wear any of my “at-home” relaxing clothes out in public. I know that the instant I leave my house to run a quick errand while in my college t-shirt and ratty sweats, I’m going to run into a student or a parent. Some things are best left unnoticed.

There’s a certain harmony in doing more with less, which is why the whole idea of minimizing the girth of my closet appeals to me. If I know what I’m wearing in advance, that’s one less decision to have to make in the morning. Looking presentable and put together while not having to overthink everything? I’m in.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Luiza Affonso
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 01:56:31

    Great post! I can’t even imagine a wardrobe full of sweats and ratty t-shirts. Hahaha
    XO

    https://styleonboard.wordpress.com

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

